RSS

Love Like A Lion

07 Feb

  
Happy Sunday to you all. I hope all of you are doing well. Just wanted to stop by to share this amazing experience I had attending the Hillsong church today. First off, I already love Hillsong and their music and all but attending their church was an an awesome experience. I was so blown by how many people that were there. I have never in life seen over 2000 people coming to worship God. Just to be in the presence of God is amazing and to be surrounded by different people from different race, culture and background is even more phenomenal. Let’s jump to the sermon for today. The sermon was taken from the book of John verses 21 (Jesus and Miraculous Catch of Fish.) Reading the passage on my own I found John 21:15 going very interesting. Here it is:

15 When they had finished eating, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love me more than these?”

“Yes, Lord,” he said, “you know that I love you.”

Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.”

16 Again Jesus said, “Simon son of John, do you love me?”

He answered, “Yes, Lord, you know that I love you.”

Jesus said, “Take care of my sheep.”

17 The third time he said to him, “Simon son of John, do you love me?”

Peter was hurt because Jesus asked him the third time, “Do you love me?” He said, “Lord, you know all things; you know that I love you.”

In verse 15, Jesus asks Simon Peter do you love me more than these which he was referring to the breakfast he had made for them serving them loaves of bread and fish.  God provided for them. He met them at their point of their need. You may wonder how, in the previous verses. Here it is:

Early in the morning, Jesus stood on the shore, but the disciples did not realize that it was Jesus.

He called out to them, “Friends, haven’t you any fish?”

“No,” they answered.

He said, “Throw your net on the right side of the boat and you will find some.” When they did, they were unable to haul the net in because of the large number of fish.

Then the disciple whom Jesus loved said to Peter, “It is the Lord!” As soon as Simon Peter heard him say, “It is the Lord,” he wrapped his outer garment around him (for he had taken it off) and jumped into the water. The other disciples followed in the boat, towing the net full of fish, for they were not far from shore, about a hundred yards.[c] When they landed, they saw a fire of burning coals there with fish on it, and some bread.

This passage makes it clear to us that God was available from the beginning. From the time they didn’t have anything until the time they caught the fish.

Let’s revisit John 21: 15,

15 When they had finished eating, Jesus said to Simon Peter, “Simon son of John, do you love me more than these?”

“Yes, Lord,” he said, “you know that I love you.”

Jesus said, “Feed my lambs.”

For me it makes me question myself and the situations that come my way. Will I trust God even in the midst of my trial or will I doubt and go astray of who God is? Will I only run to God when things are going bad in my life all will I praise him in advance and in the midst of my storm. Jesus asks Simon Peter do you love me more than these? For many if not all of us this can relate to your daily life and possessions. If you’ve been praying for a job for so long and God finally gives you a job, do you remember him. Do you spend time constantly whining of what you have or do you pray asking God to help you to get a better job? For some of us, we can testify of God’s work in our lives. See, God know everything about us but all he desires from us is a relationship. Something to get out of this passage is that we miss the fullness of God. Its everything that we’ll ever need. His love pursues us. Even when we give up on him, he never give up on us. God did so much that not everything was listed.

25 Jesus did many other things as well. If every one of them were written down, I suppose that even the whole world would not have room for the books that would be written.

That also goes for us even in our lives. God has done so much for us even when we are so afraid to share our testimonies because we think it’s not compared to other people’s testimonies, there’s still a story to be told.  Don’t take God’s glory. Share your struggles and how God brought you through it. God bless you as you share your pieces that only God knows with the world. You may the only light to someone today.

Another point I will for you to get out of this passage is that no matter where you are in life, your struggles, whatever addiction that you battling, know that God is still waiting at the shore for you. “God doesn’t need us, but he is still wants us.” Your heart is hardened. Allow him to soften your heart. God is still available.

Prayer:

O Lord, I come before you as I am. Thank you for this life you have blessed me with not because of anything that I have done or deserve. Thank you Lord for your love for us. I ask O Lord that you give us a heart to welcome you and love like you. Thank you is all we are saying. You have done great things in our life. Forgive us Lord for the times, we weren’t grateful for what you provided unto us. Thank you for many times you saw our tears and heard our outcries. Lord you know and you alone understand. Thank you and help us to trust in you even in the midst of our storms. We ask Lord that you see us through this upcoming week. Thank you for hearing this of our prayer.

   

 

  
  Have a great week everyone. 😊✨. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 7, 2016 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
