RSS

Know Your Identity In Christ

06 Dec

 

Pic

“And every day, the world will drag you by the hand, yelling, “This is important! And this is important! And this is important! You need to worry about this! And this! And this!” And each day, it’s up to you to yank your hand back, put it on your heart and say, “No. This is what’s important.” -Iain Thomas

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come. -2 Corinthian 5:17

I am the vine; you are the branches. Whoever abides in me and I in him, he it is that bears much fruit, for apart from me you can do nothing. -John 15:5

Happy Sunday! Welcome back to my blog. If today is your first day on my blog, I welcome you. I do apologize for my inconsistency on writing on my blog but as see I’m going to my best to post on Sundays or chance I get between the week to post what is on my mind. Thank you. So today, I will be talking about knowing your identity in Christ. Truthfully, I was going to talk about Forgiveness but then this topic came to mind. So I’ll start with the first quote written by Iain Thomas stated above. I found this quote to be very vital and something that happens in everyday life. There are so many things that are going on in this world and sometimes, we are so focused on these situations, that we forget who God is in our life. We forget who we are in Christ because of what the world says about us. For a lot of us who are on social media, sometimes we tend to judge ourselves because of how we view  other people’s appearance. We call ourselves ugly, not good enough, no one will like me because I’m slim, thick, and shapeless when in God’s eyes he sees us as a Masterpiece. For a very long time in my life, I struggled with identity. Knowing who I am in Christ was a struggle because of what people identified me as throughout my life. Your short, dark, ugly and etc. When those words ring in your head, you start speaking those words over your life. That brings us to the second verse “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation. The old has passed away; behold, the new has come.” -2 Corinthian 5:17. This verse serves as a reminder that all that we were before we came to know Christ has washed away. God knows us and calls us beautiful. When we come to know Christ for who he is and not what he is going to give unto us, we accept what he has already given us. If God knitted you together in your mother’s womb before your mother even came to see you face to face, what does that tell you about God? He knows everything about you. You can’t hide yourself from the All knowing Master. God knows your name and who you are. He knows your heart. He sees you for who you are not what the world sees you as. Don’t get fooled by what people post on Instagram and all forms of media. Don’t fall into self pity and jealousy. You are who you are for a reason. Not everyone has your heart. Be-You. Beautiful.

     This leads us to the last verse that sums it up for today which states “I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing.” -John 15:5. One may ask what does this verse have to do with knowing your identity in Christ? Well for me, I see it as this, God is the root of all things concerning my life. So if I don’t make God the head of life, what am I rooted in? If God is the Vine and I am the branch, he is the one that plants the seed but I have to do my part by watering it so that it can bear fruit for his Kingdom. I am Nothing without Christ. I can water the soil in the ground ground but if God hasn’t planted the seed then what exactly is rising from the soil. God makes all things beautiful and how the world views you doesn’t matter except the one who created you.

Prayer:

Father I come before you as your child. I ask O Lord for forgiveness. I am so unworthy of what you have to give to me. I am sorry for all the days and times I was ungrateful for what you have given unto me. I thank you creating me. I thank you Lord that my life has a meaning and Purpose. I am here, alive and breathing. Though many days, it can be difficult knowing what lies ahead of me, I place everything in your hands. Teach me Lord the act of trusting you according to your word. Thank you the assurance that you love me and things that you have created and are still birthing are beautiful. Help me God to spend time with you, in your word. Help me to not place anything above you but to make you the Center of all things. I thank you that each day your revealing to me and teaching me about my Identity In You. I love you Lord. In your name, I ask this for me and my brothers, sisters in Christ and even those that have not come to know of you. Amen.

Song Of The Week:

-Casting Crowns: Who Am I?

Video Of the Week:

Sarah Jakes: The Cover Up (Youtube)

Have a great day/week. God bless you all.  🙂

 

 

 

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 6, 2015 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
