RSS

I Need You

22 Feb

Image

You need Me every moment. Your awareness of your constant need for Me is your greatest strength. Your neediness, properly handled, is a link to My Presence. However, there are pitfalls that you must be on guard against: self-pity, self-preoccupation, giving up. Your inadequacy presents you with a continual choice deep dependence on Me, or despair. The emptiness you feel within will be filled either with problems or with My Presence. Make Me central in your consciousness by praying continually: simple, short prayers flowing out of the present moment. Use My Name liberally, to remind you of My Presence. Keep on asking and you will receive, so that your gladness may be full and complete.

Pray continually. -1 Thessalonians 5:17

Until now you have not asked for anything in my name. Ask and you will receive, and your joy will be complete. -John 16:24

“Do not be dismayed, for I am your God.”
Isaiah 41:10 NIV

Instrument Rated 

Instrument rated for depression. Depression can cause you to do some crazy things, like walk away from a good job or a healthy marriage, or turn to alcohol and drugs. The dictionary defines depression as “to be flattened vertically or dispirited.” Now you know why sometimes you don’t want to get out of bed in the morning. The word “depression” is not mentioned in Scripture. The closest definition to it is “heaviness.” “Heaviness in the heart of man maketh it stoop” (Pr 12:25). The toughest battles you will ever fight will be those with your own mind. What’s the answer? Start speaking God’s Word—out loud! “For He Himself has said, ‘I will never leave you nor forsake you.’ So we may boldly say: ‘The Lord is my helper; I will not fear. What can man do to me?’” (Heb 13:5-6 NKJV). Pastor Sarah Utterbach points out: “People say, ‘The Lord has promised never to leave me nor forsake me,’ then they go right back to discussing their problem. In so doing they invalidate the power of what God said. The Holy Spirit is authorized to act on God’s Word when you begin to say what God has said.” When you dwell on your problem, it’s like a pilot flying by sight and senses. But when you agree with God’s Word and begin to stand on it, you’re flying by your instrument panel. So get into God’s Word, get God’s Word into you, and start speaking it over your situation. “My word…will not return to me empty…but will…achieve the purpose for which I sent it” (Isa 55:11 NIV).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 22, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
